Homemade Washing Detergent

Last week was the week from Hades. 3 out of 4 of our family got the nasty stomach virus that’s been going around. And on top of the vomiting, Kira had some blow-out diapers. This resulted in a TON of laundry. So when I finally got to feeling better (well enough to throw in a load of laundry), I made the discovery that our washing machine wasn’t working. NOT the time you want that to happen!

Thinking it was the belt, we ordered a new one. Tuesday afternoon, the belt finally arrived. And Tuesday evening, I found myself shopping at Lowe’s for a new washing machine. Thankfully, we’ve got a savings for times like these and I was able to go out and buy a new machine without having to use credit that same night. So many aren’t in that lucky!

The new machine will be here this afternoon and I’m so ready to get going on laundry. Unfortunately, we’re going from an old-school machine to a new HE washing machine (still top-loading though). And all of the detergent I had saved up? Not HE compatible. Ugh.

Pinterest to the rescue!

I actually saw a site for homemade cleaners and one of the 5 (?) I made was washing detergent. It was INCREDIBLY easy to make and it cleans really well (I tried it out in the old machine before it died). Thank goodness I had this made….we’re ready to go when they get it hooked up.

Without farther ado, here’s the recipe:

1 Cup Borax

1 Cup Washing Soda (I used Arm&Hammer

1 bar of Ivory soap

Grated the Ivory with a cheese grater. Mix everything together for about 10 minutes (or put it in a container with a locking lid and shake shake shake!). It should create a nice powder for you.

And that’s it. Store it in an air-tight container (I bought my jar at Big Lots for about $5! Cute and functional!).

You only need 1 TB of detergent for a normal load, 2 if your clothes are REALLY dirty. And if you have lots of stains, you can definitely throw in some OxyClean.

It’s also cloth-diaper safe, so I can stop buying the expensive detergent for our diapers!

Let me know if you try it out and what you think! 🙂

~Kelley

***edit***

So what’s the vinegar for? Sorry I didn’t post that. Call it busy/tired brain 😛

You use it in place of fabric softener. I just put about a cup’s worth in the bin at the beginning of the wash. Total, it’s supposedly like $0.30 a load (or less). I haven’t done the math myself, so I can’t vouch for that though.

One response

Leave a Reply

