Crockpot Applesauce

I am not Suzy Homemaker by any stretch of the imagination. But I’ve been trying to offer my children a better variety of healthy foods, so when I saw a recipe for homemade applesauce that looked incredibly easy, I had to give it a try. My kids eat a massive amount of applesauce, so while it may be cheaper to buy the bulk stuff at Sam’s Club, I like the idea of knowing exactly what is in it and really just making it as healthy as possible.

 

So yummy!
So here’s just how easy it is:
 
Peel and core apples (I used 8 in this batch, but just made a batch the other day with about 20 because this didn’t even last the weekend!). You can mix different varieties for different tastes.
Put them in the crockpot.
I then add a little brown sugar or agave to sweeten it a little (I prefer agave and usually just a couple tablespoons is enough. Just depends on how sweet you want it!).
Some lemon extract (you can also use a strip of lemon peel, but I don’t personally like to)
1 cinnamon stick
Cook on low for about 6 hours, stirring occasionally.
When done cooking, take out the cinnamon stick and then either mash it with a potatoe masher or blend it with an immersion blender (I don’t have one, which is why I mash).
Cool and serve!
 
My children love it, my husband actually liked it, and the little girl I babysat today kept coming back for more. Totally yummy and totally worth it 🙂
 
~Kelley
 
Leave a Reply

